Should "enable update to un-starred" be password protected?

Hi all –

I am such a huge fan of “enable update to unstarred…” … it has made my
life 100x easier.

But I keep realizing that any worker out there could stomp up into the
settings there, press that feature, and suddenly they have potentially sent
their phone into a mode that’s potentially entering bad/corrupt data if the
un-starred version isn’t done yet. And there’s no clear flag that would
warn people this. They could persist in that state for months. Could
really create a headache.

Would it be smart to:

1-- place a setting in the app config in commcareHQ, called: "password for
un-starred use in mobile phone"
2-- in the mobile app, if a person wanted to enable un-starred, it would
require that password.

This feature is so helpful, it deserves this much attention…

Any thoughts on that?

Eric

Hi Eric,

Very timely feedback, thanks for sending this out!

We have actually already changed how this feature is exposed/protected in
our next release which is currently undergoing QA, along with protecting
some other fields which are dangerous for end users to have access to.

When CommCare 2.36.0 is released later this month we will include an
announcement about how to access the developer setting to update to
non-starred builds.

-Clayton

··· On Mon, May 15, 2017 at 8:38 AM, Eric Stephan wrote:

Hi all –

I am such a huge fan of “enable update to unstarred…” … it has made
my life 100x easier.

But I keep realizing that any worker out there could stomp up into the
settings there, press that feature, and suddenly they have potentially sent
their phone into a mode that’s potentially entering bad/corrupt data if the
un-starred version isn’t done yet. And there’s no clear flag that would
warn people this. They could persist in that state for months. Could
really create a headache.

Would it be smart to:

1-- place a setting in the app config in commcareHQ, called: "password for
un-starred use in mobile phone"
2-- in the mobile app, if a person wanted to enable un-starred, it would
require that password.

This feature is so helpful, it deserves this much attention…

Any thoughts on that?

Eric


You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups
"commcare-users" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an
email to commcare-users+unsubscribe@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.