Randomizing questions (survey experiment)

Hello all!

I am new to commcare (usually use SurveyCTO). I'm running a survey with an NGO. I want to program a survey experiment. This involves randomly selecting 1 of 5 different scenarios of a question and having that display to the enumerator. Then there will be a few standard followup questions. I think requires programing some random code to pull from a fixed set? Or using lookup tables? I'm completely green so if someone can walk me through this I will be very grateful!

I'm also supposed to start next week!

Thanks,
Catlan

Hi Catlan,

There are a number of different ways to randomize questions as you are describing.

The easiest one is to just define all five questions directly in the form and using the output of random() computed default value in a hidden value to control the display conditions for those questions.

Depending on your needs, there are ways to augment that process. You could use a lookup table to create a more dynamic set of potential values, or you could precompute the randomized distributions and preload them in complex ways to get very precise cohort groups, but unless you have very specific needs, the basic approach should be straightforward.

Hi Clayton,

Thanks for the reply! OK, this is helpful. I think we were jumping to the complicated version where it may not be necessary. I want simple randomization across the 5 possible questions -- I don't need complicated distributions or sub group stuff.