Displaying Lookup Table Fields in "Label" Question

I am wondering if there's a way to display the contents of the a lookup table as a "label" type question. For instance, I have a table that lists the address and phone number of a clinic in each county in California. If the user is interviewing someone who lives in a certain county, I'd like to display the address and phone number of the clinic in that county later on in the same form.

It seems to me that lookup tables are primarily used for multiple choice questions and I'm not seeing an easy way to use them for other question types, like label questions. For context, I'm relatively new to programming in CommCare and am not a software developer by any means.

Thank you!
Liz

Hi Liz

yes, you can, but it's just a question of whether or not you want to.

if you want to show a list of addresses for example, you can use something like a join or a concat to a value that you query the lookup table for.

for example, let's say you want to use it in a multiple choice, you'd put something in the query definition right?

take that, add a filter between brackets [column = value] to get a single value if you want to use it as a single value, or use a concat or join function to combine all the nodes you'll be returning. then you can stick that in a label.

but if you want to show something like an address and contact details and a bunch of other information, then it get a little trickier but you can also show them line by line sort of.
you would have to put a repeat group, whose size depends on a count(column from the query you've defined to your lookup table), then use an index each time you're returning a "row" by using position() + 1 to return something like
instance('lookuptable')/lookuptable_list/lookuptabl[column = value][1]/column_im_interested_in
where the position() function would have to be used to replace the "1" value in between the brackets [].