Auto update using phone

Hi,
Please refer to the image which is attached below. We had not created any
new version, but somehow this came up and 2 new versions got created. What
does this mean and will this effect the use on the field?

Thanks,
Prachi

Hi Prachi. This indicates that a user on your domain has made use of the
option to update to the “Latest Saved State” of an app. This feature and
the way in which it can be enabled are explained here:
https://confluence.dimagi.com/display/commcarepublic/Update+Target+Options.
Since updating to the latest saved state of an app allows you to update
without creating a build first, CommCare automatically triggers a build for
you when it receives the update request, so that you can come back to it
later if you’d like.

If you do not intend for those versions to be released to users in the
field, you just need to keep them un-starred. Builds that are created when
an update to latest-saved is triggered will always be un-starred by
default, so it looks like someone must have starred build 1083 after it was
created. I would recommend un-starring that now to prevent users from
updating to it.

The default value of the update target on the phone is always “Latest
starred build”, so users in the field will only receive starred builds when
they update, unless they have manually changed their update target in the
manner explained in the documentation linked above. This is why we’ve made
it somewhat difficult to discover how to change it, and it will be even
harder to do so starting in the next release of CommCare (2.36), in order
to make extra sure that users who shouldn’t be changing that value aren’t.

Let me know if you have any other questions about this!

Aliza

··· On Thu, Apr 20, 2017 at 10:33 AM, Prachi Patel wrote:

Hi,
Please refer to the image which is attached below. We had not created any
new version, but somehow this came up and 2 new versions got created. What
does this mean and will this effect the use on the field?

Thanks,
Prachi


You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups
"commcare-users" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an
email to commcare-users+unsubscribe@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.

Thank you! This is sorted now.

··· On Thu, Apr 20, 2017 at 4:22 PM Aliza Stone wrote:

Hi Prachi. This indicates that a user on your domain has made use of the
option to update to the “Latest Saved State” of an app. This feature and
the way in which it can be enabled are explained here:
https://confluence.dimagi.com/display/commcarepublic/Update+Target+Options.
Since updating to the latest saved state of an app allows you to update
without creating a build first, CommCare automatically triggers a build for
you when it receives the update request, so that you can come back to it
later if you’d like.

If you do not intend for those versions to be released to users in the
field, you just need to keep them un-starred. Builds that are created when
an update to latest-saved is triggered will always be un-starred by
default, so it looks like someone must have starred build 1083 after it was
created. I would recommend un-starring that now to prevent users from
updating to it.

The default value of the update target on the phone is always “Latest
starred build”, so users in the field will only receive starred builds when
they update, unless they have manually changed their update target in the
manner explained in the documentation linked above. This is why we’ve made
it somewhat difficult to discover how to change it, and it will be even
harder to do so starting in the next release of CommCare (2.36), in order
to make extra sure that users who shouldn’t be changing that value aren’t.

Let me know if you have any other questions about this!

Aliza

On Thu, Apr 20, 2017 at 10:33 AM, Prachi Patel prachi@cms-india.org wrote:

Hi,
Please refer to the image which is attached below. We had not created any
new version, but somehow this came up and 2 new versions got created. What
does this mean and will this effect the use on the field?

Thanks,
Prachi

You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups
"commcare-users" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an
email to commcare-users+unsubscribe@googlegroups.com.

For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.


You received this message because you are subscribed to a topic in the
Google Groups “commcare-users” group.
To unsubscribe from this topic, visit
https://groups.google.com/d/topic/commcare-users/2Rk-Ju3LBSM/unsubscribe.
To unsubscribe from this group and all its topics, send an email to
commcare-users+unsubscribe@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.